Just another WordPress.com site

Don’t Cry Daddy


Hello friends, hope you are well and enjoying your Good Friday…It’s a bit quite here on spaces so I started to think back to my childhood…I remembered when my Mum left us and I felt all alone is this big world…My Dad had the job of raising six unruly children from his first marriage, and later two more from his second marriage…I don’t know how he kept it together at the time, he worked hard, came home, cooked, and stayed up most nights doing the washing and chores…As you can guess I love him with all of my heart…Anyway one night after lights went out I had a visit from a Lady in white…Here’s my story put into poetry, I’ve named it, Don’t Cry Daddy…I hope you enjoy…Much love and blessings always, Lynn xxxx

 Photobucket

Don’t Cry Daddy
 
She was only a child and was filled with forlorn
Her Mother had left, a new chapter is born
Watching her Pa being both Mother and Dad
He done all he could although he still looked so sad!
 Photobucket
Scared of his hurting she suffered alone
She crept up the staircase to be on her own
Hands both together in prayer she did weep
Then drifted away into a wonderful sleep!
 Photobucket
In dreams she is rocked like a ship on mild sea
All of her worries now letting her be
Away from all harm where no one could go
Gently and calmly she rocks to and thro!
 Photobucket
Something stirs in her to open her eyes
Now she awakens in arms which are wide
A beautiful vision of a lady in white
Rocking her gently and whispering “Sleep tight!”
 Photobucket
She drifts back to sleep and then wakens again
Refreshed and so happy no knowledge of pain
She goes down the stairs as light as a kite
Then whispers “Daddy don’t cry, it will soon be alright!”
 Photobucket
23 responses

  1. Jayne

    You’ve made me cry again, LOL

    March 21, 2008 at 4:24 pm

  2. Kuskulana

    Lovely poem, happy Good Friday to you Lynn!
    Hugs from Alaska

    March 21, 2008 at 4:39 pm

  3. me

    Beautiful poem Lynn.It take s me back the memory of my mother dying when I was 5 and my father bringing me up. thank you Lynn.Happy Easter.xx

    March 21, 2008 at 5:41 pm

  4. Sweet

    That was lovely darling..Very good.. and i bet you love your dad very much..and what a lovely man he sound’s enjoy easter thinking of you love Suexx

    March 21, 2008 at 6:35 pm

  5. Lolly

    Oh my beautiful dont cover it !! touching, lovely!! I just want to hug you
    oooxxx & smiles

    March 21, 2008 at 7:11 pm

  6. ☆° Lady Jude

    beautiful and very sad

    March 21, 2008 at 9:16 pm

  7. Dreamwalker

    Aww Lynn, you have me here with a lump in my throat.. So glad the lady in white came to give you comfort. and so glad you have the love of  your Dad and he yours.. We take much for granted in this world. Going through all what you did in your life, has made you the beautiful compassionate lady that wirtes such excellent poetry, straight from her Golden Heart..
    Love and Blessings …. Peace and comfort this Easter Lynn and always xxx

    March 21, 2008 at 9:19 pm

  8. nicola

    HAPPY EASTER LYNN, yet again another excellent piece of poetry, how do you keep doing it.
    Takecare with love Nicolaxx

    March 22, 2008 at 12:01 am

  9. Kes

    Hi Lynn, Dad is a wonderful man he’s always there when you need him,the poem is great love I bet the next one’s about me hehehe……………..Love you Kes x x x x x x

    March 22, 2008 at 12:33 am

  10. Shari

    I love to come here and read your poetry. It is so heartfelt and brilliant. You must compile your poems and publish them so I can buy the book. Have a Blessed Easter Weekend friend. Love and hugs. Shari

    March 22, 2008 at 5:53 am

  11. Vanessa

    I’mmmm cccrying agggain, This is beautiful Sis, I remember them days too, we were so lucky to have a Dad that was worth thousands. Love you loads love Nessa

    March 22, 2008 at 12:30 pm

  12. ·.♥.· Sheba's Haven ·.♥.·

    awwww lynn, what a lovely poem.
    thank you for the lovely picture, its beautiful.
    im glad you like my pics as well.
    ive got 2 eggs to get through, im not complaining though haha.
    have a great weekend hugs xxxx sunshine

    March 22, 2008 at 5:53 pm

  13. Bombshell

    Hi Lynn, i love your poem its beautiful as ever,
    i hope you don’t eat to much chocolater hehehe
    i have had four in the last week is that bad or what lol
    have a lovely easter weekend. love n hugs mischief xxxxxx

    March 22, 2008 at 5:59 pm

  14. Caroline

    Hi Lynn, mischief here! he he he.  Seriously, a lovely poem.  I am so sorry for you not having your mum around when you were little.  That must have been so difficult to deal with.  Your dad sounds like a remarkable man who did the upmost to look after his family in difficult circumstances.  Love to you Lynn. Hope you get spoiled with lots of choccie over Easter.  Caroline x

    March 22, 2008 at 6:10 pm

  15. Miss

    this is soooooooooooooo incredibly beautiful especially with your music in the background xx wot a fab dad u have xx one in a million xx i bet your dad was a brilliant mum too xx he did a fab job on u and nessa xx love always xx

    March 22, 2008 at 7:20 pm

  16. Walter

    Lynn that was incrediable what a fantastic poet
    you are keep it up love and hugs Walter xxx

    March 23, 2008 at 2:26 am

  17. Trendy

    Such a Beautiful Poem , thank you for sharing!

    March 23, 2008 at 7:13 am

  18. ... Angelwitch

    Heya hunni :)
     
    how are you feeling now?
    i heard you weren’t very well again.
    hope you and Kes have a happy easter together
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    x-C-x

    March 23, 2008 at 10:06 am

  19. Ellen

    Hello Beautiful,Thank you for the well wishes –and the beautiful poems we always find here.  I hope your Easter was happy.  I’m working on it.  (((((HUGS))))

    March 24, 2008 at 3:33 am

  20. michelle

    Morning Lynne
    Thanks for the lovely comments sweetheart
    You always say such wonderful things about my poetry
    This is very evocative and moving I loved it
    Hope you had a wonderful easter precious
    Love and hugs for you from me and the boys
    Shelly xxx

    March 24, 2008 at 11:31 am

  21. Unknown

    This is gorgeous… xx Jesa

    March 24, 2008 at 12:53 pm

  22. Aussie

    Hi Lynn,browsing your poems and found this beautiful poem
    it is fantastic my friend,you write with such ease that the words
    come alive in my mind,thank you,this poem is beautiful

    April 20, 2008 at 11:04 am

  23. Unknown

    您需要二手液晶显示屏、废旧液晶屏么?我们是不折不扣的二手液晶屏、旧液晶屏大批发商,长期大量供应可再利用的旧液晶屏。我公司提供的各种尺寸的二手液晶屏, 不同厚薄如笔记本屏,均已经过我们严格的分类,检验,测试流程。请访问协力液晶屏www.sceondhandlcd.com[dchfdcdgghdjigdi]

    December 2, 2008 at 2:33 am

Leave a Reply

