Just another WordPress.com site

The Prayer


Morning friends, I’ve decided to write another new poem which really broke my heart to do…Quite a few years ago I had to Mother three newborn squirrels who was half the size of my thumb and without fur…These little boys gave me the happiest three months of my life… I never knew how beautiful Squirrels were… I named them, Scratch, Basil and Dillon…Anyway I won’t say no more, feel free to read my poem…I’ve named it, The PrayerI hope you enjoy, much love all…Lynn xxxx

  Photobucket

The Prayer
In the garden of my home, many creatures lay
Hedgehogs frolic aimlessly, for food throughout the day
Pigeons pecking nuts galore, my days were filled for free
But never did the furry tails come here to entertain me!
 Photobucket
A phone call of great urgency, altered course one day
Three little chaps were left alone, their Mama ran away
Less than just a day year old and dying from the cold
I tried to help them in this world, their story now unfolds!
 Photobucket
Three tiny forms without no hope, just rodents I was told!
No one would help these baby boys, no Mama there to hold
Decision time before too late, I surfed upon the net
My heart did pound but I had to act, no time for me to fret!
 Photobucket
Three months passed by very fast, then came the dreaded flu
My little boys named Basil and Scratch, died without a clue
The smallest boy I named Dillon, fought and done his best
Not long before I set him free, his little heart arrests!
Photobucket 
I wept many tears that day, I thought my world would end
As now my boys were took away, I lost my only friends
I buried them and said a prayer “Please Lord show me a sign
My baby boys are now alright, and are they doing fine?”
 Photobucket
I swear to you I tell no lies, straight after saying prayer
A squirrel scurried up the tree and proudly sat up there
I thought I had gone quite insane, but on that following morn
Three baby boys were frolicking, outside upon my lawn!
 Photobucket
Now in the garden of my home, many creatures lay
Hedgehogs, pigeons and the ones, that visit me each day
Fluffy tails angelic forms, I now know prayers get heard
For in the garden of my home, lives stength without a WORD!

Squirrel

Dillon… One Of My Baby Boys.

 
22 responses

  1. Walter

    Oh Lynn I lived that with you reading it so sad but so full of happiness too  thank you for sharing it with us (you are just a fantasti poet and I am one of your greates fans ) if I was their I would get you to autograph something for me love and hugs Walter xxx

    April 30, 2008 at 10:56 am

  2. Maureen

    lynn this peom broke my heart, i could almost see you standing there in the garden saying this prayer
    your three little boys still live in your heart, and that is the way it will always be.
    i am glad your feeling better now…i missed you big time, am ok now healing nicely
    no am not doing to much just chilling thats all. have a great day my special friend.
    love you lots big hugs mischief xxxxxxxx

    April 30, 2008 at 11:54 am

  3. john

    Reading this pulled my heartstringsreminding me of the furry family i have amongst the flower borders in my own gardenthank youwell crafted jxx

    April 30, 2008 at 2:39 pm

  4. Zeynep

    Hi Lynn!! I like your words. And Dillon is lovely. Is it hamster? I wouldn’t take it in my hands anyhow, lol. Thanks for stopping by my phpoto album. I had a space trouble and I revised that album again. Hope you are having a good day, cheers, Zeynep xx

    April 30, 2008 at 4:38 pm

  5. Shari

    You are one of a Kind and I am proud to call you friend. Have a great week, keep sharing your love to little fellars. Love & Hugs, Shari

    April 30, 2008 at 4:47 pm

  6. ann

    I echo Shari I am so glad you are a friend of mine . Love Always Ann xxx

    April 30, 2008 at 5:44 pm

  7. ·.♥.· Sheba's Haven ·.♥.·

    hi lynn my friend, theseangels just fly down on my space haha.
    im glad you like them, hope you are well again now.
    awwww lynn that poem is so sad, it brought tears to my eyes.
    hugs xxxx sunshine

    April 30, 2008 at 6:17 pm

  8. Kes

    I know how much you love your little boys,you gave them some wonderful weeks. Because of you they had a life
    a good life Lynn they got to know each other. the poem is a great tribute lovely words………..love kes x x x x

    April 30, 2008 at 9:25 pm

  9. joanne

    Hi Lynn i think you must be one of the most kindest person i know, it sound silly but in your poems and the words you write i think im right. there nothink more i like to watch is the little animals and birds at the bottom of my garden mother nature is a wonerful thing. big hugs Jo xxx

    April 30, 2008 at 9:48 pm

  10. ·.♥.· Sheba's Haven ·.♥.·

    thank you lynn for all your nice comments on my pics.
    i wish i could write poetry like you.
    they are all so beautiful, hugs xxxx sunshine

    April 30, 2008 at 11:26 pm

  11. Stevy

    Lynn, my English love, you are so wonderful, so kind hearted, so creative, using God’s gift to spread joys and tears of  wonderment to all you touch…most certainly me. At some point you must publish your poetry…and I will purchase at least 20-30 copies to give as gifts.  I enjoy showing everyone your gift of love from an angel of God – Lynn.             H & K xxxxxxxxx  Steve

    May 1, 2008 at 3:43 am

  12. ... Angelwitch

    Heya darling  :)
    ahh that’s beautiful, sad to read perhaps but i’m glad to know that there’s some people who still
    care for nature and all her wonders.
    we’ve semi adopted a racing pigeon lately, it must have lost it’s way with the storms last week
    and it spend a few nights sleeping on our doorstep but it looks like he’s gone now.
     
    hope you have a great day hun
     
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    x-C-x

    May 1, 2008 at 6:22 am

  13. Sweet

    Oh thats a lovely poem and a real tribute to the lovely creatures.. You did a wonderful job looking after them..even if only for a short while..much longer than if they had been left..a real kind hearted lady and i am proud to call you my friend love Suexx

    May 1, 2008 at 6:25 am

  14. dawn

    Dear Lynn,You have such a tender heart! and i totally believed that you saw the affirmative sign you were asking God for.  He does work in mysterious ways…which we cannot sometimes see.  indeed "…strength without a WORD!" v.nice :))) dawn

    May 1, 2008 at 6:51 am

  15. sus

    Hi Lynn
    Ooh really lovely entry in here :-) and yes the Parrot had been on my space again LMAO….but i cant tkae it dont worry it was my self who had send something to HIM ha ha ha ….little FUNNY thing’s.
    http://www.riversongs.com/cards/rainbows.html
    Have a wonderful 1.mai
    Hug from *SUS*
     

    May 1, 2008 at 10:18 am

  16. Newman

    Hi Lynn,thx for sending me the nice picture!U must be a very nice and kind person,this’s such a touching poem! Good job!Wish U a great weekend xxxRichard:)

    May 1, 2008 at 3:17 pm

  17. .

    What a kind heart you have!  xxxxxxxxxxxxx

    May 1, 2008 at 3:58 pm

  18. Caroline

    Awww Lynn, you are a natural mother to everyone… It’s as though Dillon, Scatch and Basil have rewarded you with lots of friends in your garden for giving them a chance of life.  Lovely poem.
    xxxxxx

    May 1, 2008 at 6:51 pm

  19. Dreamwalker

    Awww… You’ve done it again havent you…….. I’m Blubbering all over me laptop.. great Poem Lynn.. xxxxx

    May 2, 2008 at 10:40 pm

  20. Nade

    Beautiful.

    May 3, 2008 at 2:18 am

  21. Elizabeth

    Lynn
     You are such a beautiful person inside and out!  I am blessed to beable to call you friend.  Your poetry is so beautiful, as always my prayers are with you   
      Hugs and kisses Lizzy

    May 4, 2008 at 2:11 am

  22. Vanessa

    I am sobbing my heart out here, they were such beautiful boys. Love Nessa

    May 8, 2008 at 8:44 pm

Leave a Reply

