Just another WordPress.com site

The Fallen Of War


 

 

Hello again friends…As most of you know I haven’t had much chance to visit you due to problems with my arm…With luck it wont be much longer as I have my operation next Friday and as soon as I’m up to it I will get back to each of you…Just to let you know I’m thinking of you always…As it will soon be Remembrance Day and I felt it was an important event in our history to write you another poem…Hence…The Fallen Of War…I hope you enjoy…All the best wishes for your weekend…Take care, hugs and love always…xxx Lynn xxx 

 

 

The Fallen Of War
 
 
 
On the eleventh day of the eleventh hour and the eleventh month 1918,
The guns of the western front fell silent after more than four years.
 
 
Just two minutes of silence for Armistice Day
Bow your head in respect when ‘The Last Post’ does play
Please remember for whom they lost their lives for
Wear your Poppy with pride for ‘THE FALLEN’ of WAR!
 
Twas the year 1914 when the great war did start
Many were recruited with much pain in their heart
They knew they were needed and the outcome was bleak
But they fought for their Country in hope for DEFEAT!
 
 Young men aged of nineteen who’s lives were cut short
The weeping of nations, the world OVERWROUGHT!
People lay dying in pools of bright red
Orphaned young children their parents laid DEAD!
 
Not many returned when FOUR years come to end
People lost kin or their neighbours or FRIENDS!
In a field which bares crosses to mark where they lay
If it wasn’t for their courage, we may not be here on this day!
 
Just two minutes of silence on  Remembrance Day
Bow your head in respect when ‘The Last Post’ does play
Please remember for whom they lost their lives for
Wear your Poppy with pride for ‘THE FALLEN’ of WAR!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
32 responses

  1. Old

    thanks Lynn, lets us not forget all those who have died in our defence, and are still serving the country we live in
     
     

    November 7, 2008 at 4:42 pm

  2. Duckie

    You will be in my thoughts on Friday.
     
    Eileen

    November 7, 2008 at 4:46 pm

  3. .

    Well said.  Good luck with the op, lovely!  xx

    November 7, 2008 at 4:58 pm

  4. Linette

     Very beautiful poem Lynn, very beautiful! It went right through me with emotion hoping this war would come to an end.
     
     Love and hugs,
    Marie!

    November 7, 2008 at 5:17 pm

  5. Dimah

    Very beautiful!
    have anice weekend.

    November 7, 2008 at 7:09 pm

  6. Polly

    So beautifully written Lynn ..lest we forget, words i hope i never do, lets pray for all the service men and women,and the wonderful job they do for us…..hope all goes well for you on Fri, you will be in my thoughts …  hugs Polly xx

    November 8, 2008 at 2:39 pm

  7. ·.♥.· Sheba's Haven ·.♥.·

    hi lynn, sorry i missed you last night.
    im gonna miss you to, but i will be thinking of you.
    hope all goes well for you at the hospital.
    i should be ok after ive finished the pills.
    take care my lovely friend, hugs xxxx sunshine

    November 8, 2008 at 7:11 pm

  8. sus

    dear lynn……oooh the arm i see i really hope the DOC will take care of you next friday :-D
    U are in my mind okay
    have a nice sunday over there

    The Miracle of Friendship

    There’s a “Miracle called Friendship”
    That dwells within the Heart and you don’t
    Know how it happens or when it gets its start.
    But the happiness it brings you always gives a
    Special LIFT, and you realize that
    Friendship…is GOD’S most precious GIFT.
    Hugs sus
     

    November 9, 2008 at 9:05 am

  9. Dreamwalker

    As always Lynn.. Your words ring so true and touch the heart… Good look for next Friday my friend, my thoughts will be with you..xxx Hugs xx

    November 9, 2008 at 3:03 pm

  10. Cybermum

    Hi Lynn,
    Just spacing by to wish you luck for next Friday. Hope you’ll soon be on the mend.
    xxBea 

    November 10, 2008 at 7:56 pm

  11. ann

    How very true those words are . Lynn I will be thinking about you on Friday take care . Love Always Ann xxx

    November 11, 2008 at 8:30 am

  12. » dave

    Hi Lynn, I hope your wounds are now healing and thought of you on Friday as I struggled up the path I’ve been allocated. Which for the lateral, creative that I am is a sterile place to be, as in the fields with you I’d rather be. But fields also give the arrogant the realm for dispute and after the struggle, that is where the poppy leaves were seen blowing through the well-fertilised soil by a Canadian Officer I am given to understand.
    But even today, tilling the rich soil turns up not bones but the metal teeth of death, 90 years cannot rot the unexploded shell buried deep in the land.
    x

    November 13, 2008 at 1:21 pm

  13. Ronnie

    Hi Lynn,
    Hope you’re feeling better.
    The operating theatre I was working in stopped for a minute’s silence at 11 o’clock last Tuesday. The whole team of varied nationalities and religions payed their respects.
    It was an emotional but very moving moment in a busy working day and an important bridge between continents and faiths.

    November 13, 2008 at 7:28 pm

  14. ·.♥.· Sheba's Haven ·.♥.·

    hi lynn, well im glad to hear you are on the mend.
    im glad you like the pic, you dont have to thank me for being a friend.
    you just take it easy now and get well.
    take care hugs xxx sunshine

    November 17, 2008 at 8:32 pm

  15. Stevy

    Hello there sweety, I am glad you are getting better.   I, like your great friends wish you a speedy recovery. 
    Lynn, once again you show the classy person that you are.  I, too, am thankful to all that serve so that we may be free.  Thanks for your works while you are on the mend.  Much love to you from over the pond….Steven
     

    November 18, 2008 at 1:01 am

  16. Vanessa

    lovely tribute Sis, sorry its took so long for me to read it but you know how busy I am, love you always Nessa

    November 19, 2008 at 1:44 pm

  17. michelle

    Hello Sweetheart
    How are you????? I hope that everything went ok and that you are on the mend
    I have been unwell myself and I am waiting to go in for an operation myself
    So I have problems getting the time to come onto spaces
    But I think of you often and have you with me in my heart everyday
    Please send my love to Kes and lots of love to you precious, always
    Big hugs SHelly xxxx

    November 19, 2008 at 10:32 pm

  18. ·.♥.· Sheba's Haven ·.♥.·

    hi lynn my friend, your welcome for the visit.
    hope all goes well when you have your stiches out.
    im glad you like the pic, im fine thanks and im always good haha.
    take care hugs xxxx sunshine

    November 20, 2008 at 6:48 pm

  19. sus

    Hi dear Lynn……Hope u doing fine again ??? im okay again and im home from work today i have Offday ha ha
    have a lovely weekend and please take care
    (\(\(=’.’)o(_")")╬♥═╬╬═♥╬╬♥═╬╬═♥╬╬♥═╬•.¸¸.•´¯`•.¸¸.☆Hugs from a friend far away ……sus
    See ya :-)))))))))
     

    November 21, 2008 at 8:32 am

  20. ·.♥.· Sheba's Haven ·.♥.·

    hi lynn, im just off to bed now, hope you are ok.
    goodnight and sweet dreams, hugs xxxx  sunshine

    November 23, 2008 at 12:24 am

  21. ·.♥.· Redsatin ·.♥.·

    Good Morning Lynn,
    i am so happy that you are feeling better now
    i can relax now knowing you feel good hehehe,
    oh i think that parrot needs his feathers plucking out
    fancy him doing that typical guy lol. no he is a good parrot
    really. it must feel great to be pain free now, i have finished
    all my decorating now thank goodness time to chill lol.
    have a fab day. love ya lots big hugs Mischief xxxxxx
     

    November 25, 2008 at 7:52 am

  22. ·.♥.· Sheba's Haven ·.♥.·

    hi lynn, im glad you like the pic.
    im so glad that your feeling better now.
    it must have been a relief to get the stiches out.
    i will always care for you my friend.
    hugs xxxx sunshine

    November 25, 2008 at 9:18 pm

  23. natuurforser

    Yes, Lynn a beautiful poem. It remembers me to a great favorite song of my favorite british band Mungo Jerry: You don’t have to be in the army, to fight in the war. I love that song very much.roel

    December 11, 2008 at 12:46 pm

  24. robyn

    very/ nice powen

    December 22, 2008 at 6:52 pm

  25. Stevy Ritter

    Thank you dear Lynn, for another masterpiece, remembering those that fought, so that others may live in peace. God bless you and God bless those that served for us.

    November 11, 2010 at 12:47 pm

  26. I like this very much
    Thank you for posting it
    Take care
    Sue

    November 11, 2010 at 12:47 pm

  27. lynn thats lovely very best wishes my love for ur hospital visit be praying and thinking of you always come back soon hugs Diane xxxx

    November 11, 2010 at 12:47 pm

  28. lynn thats lovely very best wishes and love to you on ur hospital visit get well soon and good luck hugs and love always Diane xxxxx

    November 11, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    • Hiya Beautiful, this is an old post Diane, in fact it was 2 years ago but I put it on today to show my respect for everything
      the soldiers done for us…Much love always…xxx Lynn xxx

      November 11, 2010 at 2:05 pm

  29. Reblogged this on Lynn's Poems and commented:

    My friend Sue asked me to reblog some of my old poems so I thought this one was appropriate for this day…Much love always…xxx Lynn xxx

    November 8, 2015 at 9:56 am

Leave a Reply

