Just another WordPress.com site

The Trumpeter


At this particular time of year I think of all I’m thankful for, my friends, my family and my love of life…As you know Remembrance Day is around the corner so I thought it would be nice to write another poem for this day…It’s a story of a young Trumpeter and I hope you like my offering, hence…The Trumpeter…May you all have a beautiful Friday, much love always… xxx Lynn xxx

The Trumpeter


On the eleventh day of the eleventh hour and the eleventh month 1918,

The guns of the western front fell silent after more than four years.

Whilst out one cold November day

I watched a lad in fields at play

Where grass no longer there did grow

I’d say his years, seventeen or so!

With trumpet pressed against his lips

Then lightest touch of fingertips

A tune which ripped into my soul

The sound of church bells then did toll!

Eleven times they gently wept

Then silence of two minutes crept

No sound was heard from miles away

Of this we named Armistice Day!

With that the lad just smiled then went

Into a mist from not known whence

But on the ground from where he stood

Were poppies red like ruby blood!

Amongst the poppies was a grave

Made of wood with quite an age

A Trumpeter of age unknown

Lost his way but now goes HOME!

Copyright By LynnKaren
 


1 Thessalonians 4:16
For the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout,
with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first:


19 responses

  1. Lynn, As always your poems have the abilty to touch my heart and make my eyes weep, You have such a talent and I am so Happy that you have posted a poem once again.. Thank you my dear Lynn… and Ive Missed YOU…. (( Hugs)) to you… Love from your old friend.. ~Dreamwalker xxxxxx

    November 11, 2011 at 6:43 pm

  2. Thank you Dreamwalker, I so love doing poetry and I thought I’d give it another try, I’m always my worse critic, that’s why not many of my poems go on, lol….Thanks for always making me feel good about myself…Much love always to you and your family…xxx Lynn xxx

    November 11, 2011 at 7:30 pm

  3. It’s lovely to read one of your poems again Lynn, you have an amazing ability to be able to write with such emotion….
    Have a lovely Weekend to you and hubby….

    November 12, 2011 at 7:42 am

    • Thank you Lady Jude, I hope your weekend goes well for you, much love to you and your family always xxx

      November 12, 2011 at 7:32 pm

  4. kate58

    Wonderfully poignant ; as ever, I was deeply moved. I am so glad to see you’re back! ♥

    November 12, 2011 at 9:29 am

    • Hiya Beautiful, Thanks for the feedback, ur always so polite that’s why I’m ur No 1, love you lots xxx

      November 12, 2011 at 7:33 pm

  5. The Trumpets Call, .. always a poignant sound I feel Lynn, and especially at this time, when we remember the fallen, it takes the place of our voices raised in mourning. Your tribute poem said it all my friend. and as everyone has mentioned. it is so good to see you posting again… Love to you and yours. xPenx

    November 12, 2011 at 10:53 am

  6. Aw, bless you Pen, I wasn’t sure I’d be able to do another poem so I just tried as it’s for a special day….Much love to you flower…xxx Lynn xxx

    November 12, 2011 at 7:36 pm

  7. A beautiful poem! You brought memories of friends and relatives who were lost and now rest with heros. Thank you.

    November 12, 2011 at 8:18 pm

    • Thank you for reading it my friend…Have a lovely evening 🙂

      November 12, 2011 at 8:51 pm

  8. Welcome back Lynn!
    Your words make me realise how lucky we are that most of us didn’t have to go through a terrible ordeal like this.
    Thank you for writing, sharing and more importantly caring
    xxxx

    November 17, 2011 at 7:31 pm

  9. summer breeze

    Dear Lynn,
    You are so greatly missed as are all our long lost space friends. it is always a joy to read your poetry that reaches out and touches the heart.
    Thank you for this wonderful entry.
    I leave you with my love and best wishes.
    big hugs to you my friend,
    Love, Summer

    December 2, 2011 at 1:03 pm

  10. Schöne Fotos gefallen mir sehr gut Grüsse und wünsche einen schönen 2 Advent Gruss Gislinde. http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

    December 2, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    • Vielen Dank und Frohe Weihnachten euch mein Freund

      December 3, 2011 at 10:05 pm

  11. Hi Lynn just dropping by to wish you and your family a very Happy Christmas.. Much love sent your way my friend.. I hope that 2012 brings you Joy and Peace in all you do.. XxxX Dreamwalker xxx

    December 24, 2011 at 3:01 pm

    • Hi Dreamwalker, thanks for dropping me a line, much love to you and your family for Christmastime, thanks for being a lovely friend…xxx Lynn xxx

      December 24, 2011 at 9:58 pm

  12. Dear Lynn

    Another beautiful angel friend.

    Happy Christmas, and remember I am thinking about you. 2012 angel… its yours…. take it… enjoy it… and do with it what your heart desires…. Because whatever you do, we will all benefit from
    Bet your table is huge at this time of year..
    Love to you and yours angel
    Merry Christmas
    Jay
    xxx

    December 24, 2011 at 10:13 pm

  13. Lynn I know there is no right time just now with your sad loss of your Mum, But I want to encourage you to write more of your wonderful poems and so I have just nominated you to receive the Leibster Award and you can find the award here
    http://suedreamwalker.wordpress.com/2012/02/29/awards-and-away-time/ I hope this award bring with it many new visitors to your Delightful Blog.. Blessings Sue Dreamwalker

    Love to you my Dear Friend I am thinking about you ~Sue xxx

    February 29, 2012 at 7:16 pm

    • Thank you Sue, I feel honoured…Much love to you and your family…xxx Lynn xxx

      April 15, 2012 at 10:56 pm

Leave a Reply

